Get Representation for Your Drug-Related DWI in Texas
Did you know driving while intoxicated doesn’t just refer to alcohol? You can be charged with driving under the influence of drugs in Texas as well.
Have you or a loved one been pulled over for drugged driving? Then you will need an experienced defense attorney to represent you. Morales & Sparks, P.L.L.C., has assisted many clients during their trials for DWI linked to prescription drug or controlled substance use. A one-time mistake shouldn’t define you for the rest of your life. If you face DWI charges and you need advice or representation for your case, talk to us about how we can help.
Many of our clients are uncertain about what type of penalties they may face and what the next steps are after they are charged. We try to answer those questions at our office, but we also gathered this information to help you understand what you face.
What Constitutes DWI for Drugs in Texas?
The state defines intoxication as not maintaining a reasonable level of mental or physical faculty due to the influence of alcohol, drugs or a combination of the two. This means being able to walk and talk normally, carrying out basic motor skill tasks and balancing.
Having a prescription for the drug in question does not preclude you from being charged with DWI. If law enforcement believes your abilities have been impaired, you could be arrested.
Taking a prescription drug and then driving is not necessarily against the law. You are doing something illegal only if the drug impairs your ability to operate a motor vehicle. However, you will note many prescription drugs, including Ambien and Xanax, come with warnings not to operate a vehicle. Over-the-counter drugs can even result in DWI charges in rare cases, often when they are taken along with a single glass of alcohol.
Controlled substances such as marijuana fall under the DWI category. You could also face additional criminal charges if you are found in possession of such a substance.
What Penalty Will I Face for Drugged Driving?
The misdemeanor offense of DWI can result in up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine for a first-time drug-related offense. A second offense will bump the penalty to up to a year in prison and a $4,000 fine, and a third will be a felony charge with mandatory prison time of two to 10 years.
How Can a Texas Prescription Drug DWI Attorney Help Me?
Our attorneys know how to fight these charges. They realize law enforcement can make mistakes and sometimes the evidence isn’t what it seems. We may be able to secure a fair plea bargain, too. We will be honest with you throughout the process and communicate through every step. This is your life and your case, and we want you to be comfortable with the steps we take on your behalf.
Do you speak Spanish? We have law firm staff who are fluent and can assist you with communication. We hope you contact us today for a consultation to get the information you need.Honest Client Reviews Contact Us Today